Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/8/2013 5:50:12 PM EDT
Simple question, TiRant  .45 or Octane .45 and why? I dont think i want the Osprey because i want to shoot lead and want to be able to take it apart and clean it. Let me know what you think. If it matters this will be on German P220 and 1911.
Link Posted: 9/8/2013 6:01:53 PM EDT
[#1]
The TiRant has a short/flush piston option:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GrVFu6H9MvU
Link Posted: 9/8/2013 6:03:11 PM EDT
[#2]
I love my TiRant 45....

Very lightweight, great construction.....

I cannot speak to your alternatives beyond what I have read and seen on youtube.
Link Posted: 9/8/2013 7:54:22 PM EDT
[#3]
I have no first hand experience with either, but
I chose the octane when I was in your shoes.

Link Posted: 9/9/2013 4:13:21 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:

... i want to shoot lead and want to be able to take it apart and clean it. .
View Quote

The Octane has stainless steel baffles and the Tirant has anodized aluminum alloy baffles.

If you want to shoot lead, then the Octane would be the better choice because
of the restrictions placed on the use of some cleaning agents on the anodized aluminum baffles of the Tirant.

You can scrub the hell out of the stainless steel baffles, but that same hard scrubbing might damage the anodizing
on the aluminum baffles.

And believe me, if you're going to shoot lead through a suppressor then you're going to be doing some serious
scrubbing on those baffles.  So much that you just might never shoot lead again.

Link Posted: 9/9/2013 4:19:26 AM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
The Octane has stainless steel baffles and the Tirant has anodized aluminum alloy baffles.

of the restrictions placed on the use of some cleaning agents on the anodized aluminum baffles of the Tirant.