Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page Armory » 50 Cal
Site Notices
Posted: 6/16/2009 9:30:40 PM EDT
I have the Barrett 99 currently with a Leupold Mark IV 6.5-20x50.  I also have a Nightforce Benchrest  in a 12-42x56 configuration.  A rep from Nightforce told me that the benchrest model is not as robust as the NXS series scopes and strongly recommended not using the benchrest on a 50.  Anybody using the benchrest mdel on their 50??
Link Posted: 6/16/2009 10:45:08 PM EDT
[#1]
I have the same scope (12-42X56) since 1999 and it is still working.  When I started shooting 1000 yard matches about 10 years ago the NXS series was not out yet and most the people at the matches where using Night Force bench rest model scopes or Leupold MKIV scopes, it was about 50/50.   I have 3 NXS models also and have had to send 2 of them back for repair (one had to have the front lens re-bedded and the other had the front lens replaced, started to look not as bright or clear as the others) but the benchrest model is still going strong. Both times I had the scopes back with in 10 days of sending them in for repair.  They also did a turret upgrade on my oldest NXS free of charge when sent in for re-bedding. They have great customer service.

Ed
Link Posted: 6/17/2009 5:53:31 AM EDT
[#2]
LOTS of FCSA folks are using Nightforce Benchrest scopes on 50's.  LOTS.

Only downside of the Benchrest series Nightforces is that they don't have much elevation adjustment.  The 12-42 really doesn't have much.  So don't plan on using it without either a sloped rail or sloped rings and you are unlikely to be able to zero at 100 and 1000 yards with the same mount setup.

-David
Edgewood, NM
Link Posted: 6/17/2009 6:43:27 AM EDT
[#3]