Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/19/2002 10:09:09 PM EDT
I am new to the AR game, just went out and bought a new 20 inch Bushy. I have several questions, that hopefully some of you guys can answer.
1.The manual suggest the use of a "clp" to clean the weapon?!?!? I have never used anything but HOPPES #9 Followed by Oil. Does "clp" take the place of the two, or do you have to follow it with oil. Where do I get the stuff?
2.What is a good source for buying ammo online? What kind should I use? Wolf works well in my mini 14's and AK's. I have heard that the steel cased stuff is hard on these AR weapons. I do handload for all my hunting guns, not really practical for Ak's or mini's as I like to shoot and I only have a single stage press.
3. I would like to get a cleaning kit to stuff in the stock. Where can I get this online, reasonable price?
4. A friend of mine has some Colt Factory clips that have never been used. Some 20's and I think some 30's. He has had these clips for about 15 years and decided he wants to sell them, as he does not own an Ar. What is a fair price for these items? I really don't want to burn him.(like I said he is a friend)
5. These guns have a dust cover over the bolt that opens when you pull back the charging handle. If I close this dust cover on a loaded weapon, will it hurt anything If I fire the weapon with the dust cover closed? I am guessing that this practice is ok as it looks like the cover is force open when the bolt travels rearward.
Thanks for any help. I have owned firearms my whole life, This is my first Ar, and I am pretty much Ignorant of the thing.

Link Posted: 5/19/2002 10:27:00 PM EDT
[#1]
Welcome!!!!

If you get hooked this won't be your last AR.

I can answer some of your questions.

CLP replaces Hoppes and Oil. I personally prefer Hoppes #9 and Kroil. You don't need to follow CLP with oil as it serves  both purposes.