Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/19/2003 7:57:35 AM EDT
I have a postban Colt LW and to me it seams to have slop between the receiver and the lower,is this the way its setup from colt??? I'm not a gunsmith but i am a mechanic and the tolerance doesnt seam right. There seams to be enought that i would think that every shot would diffrent. Do i just have to much time on my hands or is thia a common problem with all AR's
Link Posted: 9/20/2003 4:29:14 AM EDT
[#1]

So everyones AR is tight then? I guess my colt is the only turd in the bunch.What i mean is if i place the lower in a vice and clamp it I can rock the upper back and forth.I guess i should contact Colt.
Link Posted: 9/20/2003 4:39:51 AM EDT
[#2]
Nearly all ARs have a bit of movement between the upper and lower; and if they don't when new, they develop a bit over the years, from being opened and closed a few hundred times[:D]

No, it doesn't effect accuracy, because no matter where the upper is in relation to the lower, the barrel to sights relationship doesn't change. It is a bit of an aggravation though, and that's why there are two or three different items on the market that will fix the problem, either by putting a rubber wedge under the rear attachment point or, more expensively, byusing a screw adjustable type rear push pin to wedge the upper down on the lower. Either will give you a more solid feel. Niether will improve your accuracy.[:D]

Link Posted: 9/20/2003 6:32:18 AM EDT
[#3]
thanks Sham.
Link Posted: 9/20/2003 1:45:29 PM EDT
[#4]
Brian:
If the looseness bothers you try an "Accu-wedge."  They sell for a couple of bucks and are effective in eliminating play.  shamayim is right though, in that the play has no effect on accuracy.HTH
Link Posted: 9/22/2003 12:10:32 PM EDT
[#5]