Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/20/2002 6:21:19 AM EDT
i would like to build a ar15 from one of the complete kits!
being that i am new to shooting and ar's is this something that can be done for someone with little experience in guns?
or are these kits for serious gunners' only?
Link Posted: 12/20/2002 6:36:24 AM EDT
[#1]
I had the same reservations as you last Christmas, I ordered my first AR complete.
Once I had it in my hands, I found that they are quite simple, so I ordered a kit for this Christmas from Olympic Arms, went with a 16" Eliminator.

I am so looking forward to Christmas day.

Go to this link page:
[url]http://old.ar15.com/docs/assembly/lower/[/url]

Let me know what you do,

Rancid Lance
Link Posted: 12/20/2002 9:22:33 AM EDT
[#2]
I put together my AR earlier this year in about 3 hours, having never even touched one before. I'm also not terribly mechanically inclined.

I'd definately do it again. I'd also recommend that you go with J&T Distributing.
Link Posted: 12/21/2002 5:26:17 AM EDT
[#3]
I built a 16" M4 several months ago but didn't use a "kit".  Just bought a stripped upper and lower, then the barrel and all the other parts needed and proceded to assemble them.  It all went real smooth. Also, it shoots great and after about 4 or 500 rounds thru it, haven't had a lick of problems or malfunctions.
Link Posted: 12/21/2002 10:54:46 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
i would like to build a ar15 from one of the complete kits!
being that i am new to shooting and ar's is this something that can be done for someone with little experience in guns?
or are these kits for serious gunners' only?
View Quote

If you've ever built a plastic model, played with Lego's or an erector set as a kid, you're ready for a kit. For your next rig( there will be) you'll be ready to piece together a scratch built! [;)]
Link Posted: 12/21/2002 3:20:48 PM EDT
[#5]