Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR-15 / M-16 Retro Forum
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 6/17/2014 2:28:47 AM EDT
I'm a big fan of the 605, I want one badly but can't get myself to cut down a good 20" barrel. I have a Bushmaster gov. profile dissy barrel, currently its on a Flat Top Upper with Colt M16A1 BCG, A2 handgaurds and black A2 Lower Receiver with A2 stock. I have a 604 upper sitting on my bench that I have no real plans for, spare A1 handguards, PG, brand new Type D stock and 3-prong FH, I already shaved the bayolug off, and I have a gray preban Essential Arms lower I can throw it on that's been sitting around collecting dust. So that being said, should I go retro with this setup even though the barrel contour from the FSB forward is wrong or leave it as a modern build? Having all the parts to pull it off just kind of came to me as I was looking through boxes for my Colt Fiberlite stock assembly.. (If you build it they will come) I swear they were telling me they need to be put together. LOL  
Link Posted: 6/17/2014 3:13:07 AM EDT
[#1]
I'd prolly go the dissy route for reliability purposes.  Maybe recontour it to save weight, looks, etc. or use as is.

Otherwise get one of the new 20" .625 barrels and have JT or adco cut it down.  Gas port may need to be tweaked.
Link Posted: 6/17/2014 3:26:37 AM EDT
[#2]
I would gladly trade an HBAR 16" barrel for a 20" A2 Govt profile barrel.
Link Posted: 6/17/2014 4:02:51 AM EDT
[#3]