Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 7/17/2008 7:47:29 PM EDT
IF somebody were to make a semiauto capable 50BMG upper for the AR15 using M82 mags........ Potentially, with a DIAS, or maaaybe a Registerd Reciever, (if you dont mind swapping out the bolt release.......... Cheap 50 machine gun??????????????????? flame suit on...
Link Posted: 7/17/2008 7:51:19 PM EDT
[#1]
Here, this is for you:
Better get in...

Link Posted: 7/17/2008 9:34:23 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
Here, this is for you:
Better get in...

i245.photobucket.com/albums/gg76/gi57/bolt/suit.jpg

awesome, i guess now would be the wrong time to mention i AM a firefighter? but in all seriousness
for the recoil, considering how hard the damn thing would kick anyway, the whole assembly would be mounted on some sort of pintle.... so potentially a longer tube and spring, and a heavy as shit buffer might do the trick. and for those that are wondering, i was thinking about having the magazine mount either on the side like the ferret 50(i think?) or better yet, inverted, loading through the top... solving any potential feed issues............. now who do i have to talk to to get my ideas on paper, and eventually forged in steel?
Link Posted: 7/17/2008 10:51:34 PM EDT
[#3]
Why? 50bmg is a long range round, so a top feeding mag wouldn't be so great. What's  wrong with a .50 Beowulf (knock down power) or .308/6.5/6.8 (long range) that are already available in an AR platform. I just don't see any practical need/use for a semi auto entry-type shoulder-fired .50bmg especially full auto!

If you own a machine shop, want a new toy and have free time, knowledge/skill, and money, why not?
Link Posted: 7/17/2008 10:52:32 PM EDT
[#4]
MGI Hydra lower with RDIAS, KNS spade grips mounted on a pintle?  

Seems a bit excessive, no?