Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/16/2006 10:14:25 AM EDT
Alright, all of you out there that are well versed in the AR15 lifestyle will probably find this stupid, but hey, I'm just getting into this.  Here's the question.  If I have a lower that is designed for 5.56, can I just switch out to different caliber uppers or will I need a specific lower to be able to handle say, .50 Beowulf?

Thanks in advance and please be kind to the newbie.  
Link Posted: 1/16/2006 10:51:17 AM EDT
[#1]
Generally speaking you can mix & match.  Depending on what you are doing you may need to swap a few parts like the buffer and maybe add a mag well block.  The lower receiver itself & the fire control group should all be compatible.

--Snowbound
Link Posted: 1/16/2006 12:21:43 PM EDT
[#2]
The majority of calibers out there use a standard 5.56 lower. It's when you get into the longer calibers (such as .308) that you need a dedicated lower due to the magwell being too short.

The .50 Beowulf uses a standard lower.
Link Posted: 1/16/2006 12:32:58 PM EDT
[#3]
i'm not in favor of telling a guy to "not post" until he's read through a great deal of the material on this site - i'd likely never post if that were the case.  i can say, however, that most of the stuff that is asked is covered somewhere somehow.  i'd encourage you to use the "search" feature often - it is valuable.  

most of the uppers i'm aware of fit the lower with no issue.  they will say "fits ar 15 lower" or "fits ar 10 lower" etc...  after you do some shopping around you'll find the ar platform is literally exploding.  a few years back there wasn't a great deal of interest outside a select few to rechamber the ar rifles into other calibers.  we now have different options all over the place.