Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 6/17/2003 12:02:36 PM EDT
OK here is the question:
I want a Pre-ban rifle.  If I buy a Pre-Ban stripped lower receiver and then buy a Pre-Ban M4 upper and put them together does that put me in violation of the AWB?  According to Bushmasters website it sounds that way.  Does anyone have any clarification or know if I can do this to obtain a Preban rifle?  I am new to the ins and outs of the tricky BATF.
Please help.

From BM website:
 Bushmaster Responds on the Assault Weapons Ban Issue

Call 202-224-3121 Today Ask your Senators to
Support S. 659!

(Click for more information) Bushmaster Requests Your Help in Preventing Junk Lawsuits Against the Firearms Industry!
Online Shopping | Catalog Request | News | Customer Service | Tech Support | Links
Visit our Law Enforcement Website
 Your Comments

Sales: 1-800-998-7928 | Customer Service: 1-800-883-6229
Owner's Manual

NOTE: The sale of assemblies in "Pre-Ban" configurations (i.e. with bayonet lugs, flash suppressors, telescoping stocks) are intended for use as repair parts only. Such assemblies MAY NOT BE USED TO CREATE NEW ASSAULT RIFLES as defined by Gun Legislation of 1994

Link Posted: 6/17/2003 12:40:49 PM EDT
[#1]
The simple version:

If you buy a preban lower (manufactured as a rifle prior to 9/94) then you can legally attach a pre-ban upper receiver.  
Link Posted: 6/17/2003 12:44:19 PM EDT
[#2]
Unless it was built into a rifle with more than one of the evil features, [b][red]ACCORDING TO THE SPIRIT OF THE LAW[/red][/b], yes, you are in violation of the law.

Will you ever get caught and can they prove it?

Well I suppose some sneaky ATF guys could have bought up a bunch of pre-ban receivers and held onto them until September 14th, 1994 and then started some sort of a sting operation.
Link Posted: 6/17/2003 1:04:54 PM EDT
[#3]