Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 2/25/2007 3:07:35 PM EDT
I have a 16" Bushmaster M4 type flat-top I bought a couple months ago.
I am thinking about doing the ATF form 1 to allow making an NFA weapon, and buying a short barreled upper to put on my lower.   (Rather than buying a whole new short-barrel carbine). Bushmaster  sells a upper with 11.5" barrel for $565.   Is there any other vendors I should consider getting it from?   I want a quality upper for this, and I guess I have a warm and fuzzy feeling buying it from BM since it will be going on a BM lower.   I have seen a Lewis Machine Tool 10.5" upper, but its more expensive and has a 1:7 twist (I think).   I like the 1:9 of the BM.    I saw one from Model 1 sales......any good?  Also, I will likely put a LaRue or Daniel defense free-float rail fore end on this shorty.
Any recommendations?
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 6:23:18 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 6:29:29 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 6:45:26 PM EDT
[#3]
While I am not in the market for an SBR at this moment, my general thoughts are that as barrel length diminishes, caliber should increase.  Therefore if choosen to go SBR I would think that a 9mm subgun is the way to go.
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 7:00:41 PM EDT
[#4]
I'll be shooting 55gr and 62 gr bullets.      1:7 is the way to go?
With the short barrel, it changes things enough that you need a shorter twist to sabilize?
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 7:42:35 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 8:28:07 PM EDT
[#6]
Actually, I was thinking 1:9 because I have read that it is optimal for stabilizing the 55 and 62 gr bullets.    Since those are the bullets I will be shooting, thats why i was thinking along those lines.   But it does seem that most every short barrel offered by vendors is a 1:7.    ok.....1:7 it is.
Link Posted: 2/25/2007 10:18:39 PM EDT
[#7]
Link Posted: 2/26/2007 6:46:12 AM EDT
[#8]