Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/10/2007 1:12:06 PM EDT
Okay guys, I'm new to the AR game so I could use a little help. Also before anyone asks, yes, I tried the search function and I have absolutely NO luck with it on this forum for whatever reason, so here's my situation..
I just bought my first AR which I will pick up tomorrow. It's a RRA Elite mid-length with a 16" 1 in 8 twist stainless barrel and upgraded BCG, and Dominator II mount. I have a new Sightron SII 4.5-14x42 AO Illuminated Mil-Dot reticle scope that I want to put on it.

Now, I may at some time in the future decide to take the scope off for a while and play around with an Eotech, so that is why I ordered it with the Dominator II. What I do not know however, is what I really need to properly install the Sightron scope. The LaRue Tactical SPR/QD LT-104 Mount looks like it would work, but what the hell do I know??? Is something like that what I am going to need? If so, is LaRue the only game in town? I have nothing against LaRue, I would just like to know what my options are and if there is anything out there that is of equal or near equal quality for a little less money(better bang for the buck) than the LaRue.

I have poured over all the picture threads and what not guys, but I'm still a little lost on this one fellas. I sure wouls appreciate the help. Thanks!
Link Posted: 10/10/2007 1:32:14 PM EDT
[#1]
There are a couple of options for mounting magnified optics on an AR flat top, and a lot depends on how far forward you need the scope mounted to get good eye relief with your preferred cheek weld.

- High or extra-high rings: can give enough height, but often don't have enough eye relief.  This is the least desirable option, IMO.