Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Rimfire and Pistol Calibers
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 2/1/2013 7:56:56 PM EDT
I'm new to 9mm AR's and I just picked up a Rock River 9mm. I remember reading these need some kind of spacer or something in the gun gets beat up. I remember something about using quarters(coins) for the spacer. Does my Rock River need this and if so where do they go? Here is a picture of my buffer and spring and hopefully you can tell if this is good enough or if I need a spacer too. Thanks for any help!
Link Posted: 2/2/2013 3:51:47 AM EDT
[#1]
The gun does not "need" anything added until and unless it gives you problems.  The spacer is to reduce overtravel of the bolt, which can lead to breaking the bolt catch.  I have a factory RRA 9mm carbine without a spacer, and running WWB it is smooth and fun to shoot, with no problems that point to needing a spacer.  My 9mm SBR runs fine without a spacer OR a heavy buffer, again with WWB.

If you find the gun feels harsh when you fire it, particularly when the bolt goes forward, you might consider a spacer.  If it isn't a problem, don't worry about it.
Link Posted: 2/2/2013 8:12:41 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
The gun does not "need" anything added until and unless it gives you problems.  The spacer is to reduce overtravel of the bolt, which can lead to breaking the bolt catch.  I have a factory RRA 9mm carbine without a spacer, and running WWB it is smooth and fun to shoot, with no problems that point to needing a spacer.  My 9mm SBR runs fine without a spacer OR a heavy buffer, again with WWB.

If you find the gun feels harsh when you fire it, particularly when the bolt goes forward, you might consider a spacer.  If it isn't a problem, don't worry about it.

Do they make a spacer for this problem or do you have to make your own? Where exactly does the spacer go? Thanks!
Link Posted: 2/2/2013 9:31:48 AM EDT
[#3]