Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/29/2006 12:03:58 PM EDT
I am building a coyote/target gun, and have decided on a 20" heavy stainless barrel.  I have narrowed the actual barrels down to either a White Oak CMP match barrel or a DPMS DCM barrel.

www.dpmsinc.com/10Expand.asp?ProductCode=BL-DCM
www.whiteoakarmament.com/

Which one do you think is the better barrel? I know WOA uses Wilson barrels, and I'm not sure who builds the barrels for DPMS.  The WOA will cost me about $50 more, do you think it will be worth it?  I am hoping to get 3/4" groups with the gun, and I have had good luck with Wilson barrels on Rock River AR's.  Only thinkg is, I have no experience with DPMS barrels.

Thanks!
Link Posted: 1/29/2006 12:42:50 PM EDT
[#1]
I can’t talk about the DPMS barrel (I don’t own one), but I can talk about the WOA SS 1/7 20 inch CMP barrel. I really like mine. It shoots 1/2 moa with the BH 75 grain match, and just a hair over 1/3 moa with the BH 77gr match.
MB
Link Posted: 1/29/2006 1:00:11 PM EDT
[#2]
Which is the better barrel?  For me the WOA is the better barrel because I put 77s and 80s through it.  For you, probably the DPMS because the 1x8 twist and throat would handle coyote loads better.

Are you going to use heavier/longer bullets?  are you going to use optics?  You should pick up the phone and call WOA and ask if they can help build an upper to suit your needs.  They probably don't have the DCM barrel in stock right this moment anyhow, because it's the Highpower off season.  You could call adco too, they carry 1x8 DCM and varmint profile barrels for $25 more than DPMS.
Link Posted: 1/29/2006 3:46:52 PM EDT
[#3]