Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Magazines
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 12/27/2003 10:34:49 PM EDT
Newbie here....The wife and I are going to be putting a AR15 together real soon.  What magazines are legal to use?  Are you allowed to use preban mags in a postban rifle?  We would like 20 and 30 round magazines.  Thanks for any advice on this matter.      
Link Posted: 12/28/2003 5:37:51 AM EDT
[#1]
You can use any capacity mag in an AR15 regardless of whether the rifle is pre or postban.  The hitch is that the MAG must have been manufactured prior to the ban.  Hicap mags made since the ban are marked LEO Use Only and are not legal for us lowly citizens.
Link Posted: 12/28/2003 8:55:26 AM EDT
[#2]
Hello there [newbie]

I'm assuming your new not only to the site but also to the AR15.  Red-Leg is steering you right.

I would just add that the ban of 1994 is set to "sunset" in September of 2004.  If there is no legislation to extend on renew the ban, the original ban of 94 is set to automatically repeal itself after 10 years (2004). This should greatly simplify a lot of our lives...

If your planning on building an AR15, I'm sure you'll find lots of helpful advise here as well as some deals on any mags that you might need.

Good luck on your build.  Take care.

Sly
Link Posted: 12/28/2003 2:41:25 PM EDT
[#3]
Thanks Red-Leg and I-M-A-WMD for the replies.  I am new to the site and kinda new to the AR-15.  I get to shoot the M-16 every two years in the AF.  I am reading up on building the AR on this forum.  Very informative site.  I just wanted a Mini-14 (lower cost) but the wife like the AR better.  I sure as heck wasn't going to complain.  Is e-bay a bad place to search for mags?  Again thanks.  I will continue reading the forum.  
Link Posted: 12/28/2003 3:40:28 PM EDT
[#4]
Check the equipment exchange for mags.
The link is at the top of the screen under the ad banner.
Good choice in the AR over the Mini.