Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/23/2003 2:26:48 PM EDT
First off I'm a newbie,I just bought a new Bushy XM15-E2S A3, with a 20in heavy barrel. I have been here for four years reading posts,and now I'm part of the Black Rifle fan club. You guys were great help in helping me find my rifle.

Anyway looking through the mag well into the upper, I can see the gas tube canted slightly to the right. Looking at the upper where the gas tube fits into the
X shaped hole, while letting the bolt carrier slowly forword I can see the gas tube move back to center when the carrier key comes in contact with it.

I Emailed Bushmaster and they told me to take the bolt out of the carrier, put the carrier back in the upper and tip the barrel up and it should fall out, and if it doesn't they said to bend the gas tube with a flat head screw driver
to get it to center, and that if I'm not comfortable doing this to send it to them to fix it under warranty.

So I took the bolt out of the carrier and pushed it back and forth in the upper. There is a slight ammount of friction between the gas tube and the carrier, enough to make it stick when I point the barrel up.

What do I do to fix this,or should I do anything? I havn't shot it yet so I don't know if it will cause a problem. Bending the gas tube does not sound right, why bend something that's supposed to be straight. It seems like a critical part to me.              

Thanks for any input.

Edited because I can't shpeelllll.

Link Posted: 9/23/2003 3:05:14 PM EDT
[#1]
On a 20" barreled rifle, leverage is in your favor.

I'd take off the top handguard and apply pressure to the gas tube there rather than inside the upper. A little pressure goes a long way in correcting any gas tube/carrier key alignment problems.

Go slow and verify your progress with the bolt-less carrier test.
Link Posted: 9/24/2003 8:18:54 AM EDT
[#2]