Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/26/2004 9:21:36 AM EDT
Howdy all. I'm a newbie to ARs and to AR15.com, having recently come over to the dark side from the M1A/M14 world. I'm looking to build an M4-type carbine that will be as durable and reliable as possible. I already have an RRA lower and will soon have an LMT upper assembly. But I'm a bit stumped as to which lower parts kit I should use. Lots of people singing praises to Colt around here, so I'm considering a Colt lower parts kit from SAW (small pin for my RRA lower). Are there any other options?

I'm also considering the Rock River match trigger. Are these anywhere near as durable as Colt? My main consideration is field reliability, not saving a few bucks or having a feather light trigger pull. Thanks.
Link Posted: 10/26/2004 9:22:36 AM EDT
[#1]
Field reliability means stay with a standard trigger.  The standard RRA lower parts kit will do quite well for you.
Link Posted: 10/26/2004 9:42:32 AM EDT
[#2]
I've had great luck so far with both Colt and RRA lower parts kits. My builds have been a mixture of both, although I have used Colt kits for a few more of them.

My only real (minor) issue with the RRA kits is that sometimes their attention to detail is lacking. Things like having to deburr the selector to make it fit into the receiver, or filing down the bolt catch to fit in it's slot have been (small) issues that I've frequently had to contend with. My most recent RRA parts kit had H/T pins that needed resurfacing to remove the rough spots.