Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AK-47 » AK Discussions
AK Sponsor: palmetto
Site Notices
Posted: 9/9/2003 12:32:27 PM EDT
Since this is where the AK guys hang out, I am not looking for a "fair and balanced" discussion.  I am no AR expert either.  I do have an AR and I plan to get 1 or 2 more.  A few years ago when I got my first AR a friend got his first AK.  When we hit the range that weekend, we came away with the feeling that the AK had "won" the day.  We were both new to both types of guns, and since then, I am comfortable with both.  Later, I even bought a saiga .410 so I could have an AK action to mess with.  Simple, tough and reliable.

So now that I am planning ahead for an SBR, I can't help but think AK?  The Beretta storm in .45 coud also be a good choice and in the end who needs an excuse to buy more guns?

So lets say SBR for use 100 yards and under, maybe 150 yards.  A beater gun, in the truck too.  Compact and a real shooter, and assume  the AWB dies like it should next September.  So using the best of what the AK has to offer is it a better choice for an SBR?

Fire away you "commie gun" lovers.
Link Posted: 9/9/2003 12:49:24 PM EDT
[#1]
IMHO, the only AK sbr worth the effort is a krink.  

Krinks have a charm all their own.  I don't easily compare it to any other SBR including an AR.  

Krinks got the style, AR's got the versitility.  Your choice.

Link Posted: 9/9/2003 2:24:22 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 9/9/2003 3:29:33 PM EDT
[#3]
Because you can!!

Mike
Link Posted: 9/9/2003 3:37:36 PM EDT
[#4]
Well, I would say that the Krink is about 5x more badass looking then any SBR AR, except maybe one of those Z-M weapons LR300MLs... but you get the idea.  

One big thing to consider, if you care about the actual "effectiveness" of the rifle, is that the 5.56x45mm round is very velocity dependent, while the 5.45 round normally used in a Krink, is not.