Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 4/16/2006 1:34:10 PM EST
All in all what is the better firearm? I am new to AKs so I need help. I prefer the looks of the VEPR over the arsenal because I have never been a huge fan of AK looks but the VEPR I like. Are there any tactical/railed handguard I can get for the arsenal? I know its difficult to find a VEPR and will be for an unknown length of time. I really dont like the grip on the arsenal. Could I put one of these fob ergonomic pistol grips on it?
Link Posted: 4/16/2006 4:44:40 PM EST
[Last Edit: 4/16/2006 4:52:43 PM EST by Bullitt3401]
I have a 5.45 Vepr K and I'll say if you like the look of the Vepr, get one. Jensen Arms probably has some left, he's a dealer in the AR15.com EE (the classifieds section) The pics in the "Veprs for sale" ad shows green furniture, but the one I got from him has black furniture, which looks better to me anyway!

Just one warning, the Vepr is 2 pounds heavier than a SLR105. It doesn't come with any accessories except a 30 round mag and a cable lock.

The plusses are it has the heavy-duty RPK receiver and they're considered to be more accurate than a regular AK...probably because of the heavier barrel and thicker receiver?

The finish on the Veprs are very, very nice. I've seen Arsenal AK's in 2 local gun stores, and I'm not too impressed with the finish on them.

I'm pretty sure someone makes a railed handguard that'll fit the SLR105. Check the AK parts & accessories section of the EE.

Here's a link that shows how to install an accessory rail on Veprs.

ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=4&f=80&t=75822

The Vepr's stock and pistol grip are one piece. I hear ACE is working on an adapter that will allow Vepr owners the ability to put standard AK stocks & pistol grips on them.

Scott

Link Posted: 4/16/2006 5:15:23 PM EST
[Last Edit: 4/16/2006 5:19:12 PM EST by Foxtrot427]