Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/11/2023 8:58:14 PM EDT
Anybody out there that can comment on these?
Struggling at times to maintain my remaining hearing, following a career in the FA, competition shooting for years, since a 12 y.o., and now hunting and lots of pistol practice.
The stated noise protection on these "U.S. made items" is "...up to 40 dBs...," well higher than the usual 23-25 dBs on electronic earmuffs. They're not cheap, with a street price of around $400+. I try to always use earpro even when hunting and am wondering if these would be both effective and comfortable for long periods of time. Additionally, do they remain "plugged in" during normal and sudden movements, because I'd hate to lose one or both when out in the weeds. Thanks.

"OTTO Engineering NoizeBarrier Micro"  otto-comm.com
Link Posted: 3/11/2023 10:10:24 PM EDT
[Last Edit: pgm74] [#1]
I've been using them for going on 3 years with hundreds of hours wearing them and highly recommend them.  I use them with the foam tips that come with them.  ( Etymotic Research ER38-14F available on Amazon appear to be identical replacements ).    I'm not sure if 40db NRR is right,  but they're right up there with 33db non-electronic foam plugs.   Some people use Peltor SkullScrews with them but at least in my ears the NRR seemed to drop significantly with those so went right back to the foamies.