Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/29/2023 5:55:24 PM EDT
I'm not a newbie to firearms or shooting, but a newbie to consistent training. I've taken defensive pistol and carbine courses, have had a CHL for over 10 years, but have never sat out to train and definitely don't train/shoot regularly.

I want to change that. Like many others, the two limiting factors are time and money. I'm looking at an annual membership at a local range to avoid range fees, but I'm wondering for someone who knows how to shoot but can certainly stand to improve, will 50 Rounds a week shooting 9mm be enough? Is there any type of proven threshold for training volume to actually get consistent groups with speed?

Thanks in advance.
Link Posted: 3/29/2023 6:04:57 PM EDT
[#1]
50 rounds a week will be more than 90% of shooters. Like going to the gym, have a plan before you go to maximize your 50 rounds.

Dry firing throughout the week before you hit the range will also give you the reps needed to build confidence in your shooting process. Lots of good resources out there for dry firing.

Link Posted: 3/29/2023 6:11:17 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By 58Teague:
50 rounds a week will be more than 90% of shooters. Like going to the gym, have a plan before you go to maximize your 50 rounds.

Dry firing throughout the week before you hit the range will also give you the reps needed to build confidence in your shooting process. Lots of good resources out there for dry firing.

View Quote

Thank you. I'll start searching dry fire training.
Link Posted: 3/29/2023 6:22:33 PM EDT
[#3]
50 rounds a week is way more than the average know it all internet commando shoots. Good for you!
Link Posted: 3/29/2023 6:33:39 PM EDT
[#4]
Originally Posted By TradWoodsman:
50 rounds a week is way more than the average know it all internet commando shoots. Good for you!
View Quote