Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/14/2019 2:29:51 PM EDT
I'm new to reloading and trying to figure out if these are safe to load, I know consistency would be down, but I honestly just need trigger time at the moment.

I'm using an rcbs trim pro 2(powered), it has a little wobble so the neck isn't being cut completely square. The OAL of the brass is varying from 1.990-2.020 with most being 1.995-2.015, I was shooting for 2.005-2.010.

I understand neck tension and all won't be consistent, but would these be safe to load and fire?
Link Posted: 5/14/2019 2:57:09 PM EDT
[#1]
Why is it wobbling? Mine is close to 25 years old, and cuts brass square and clean down to less then a .001"(normally under .0005").. it is extremely consistent at producing quality brass... as for weather the brass would function properly, sure as long as it is short enough to not get into the throat where it necks down to bullet caliber...accuracy will suffer....Does your trim pro use the universal case holder or the plates? you can upgrade the plates to the universal holder and it works excellent if you run it right..Also a RCBS caliber specific 3 head cutter is worth its weight in gold...
Link Posted: 5/14/2019 4:42:39 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Reorx] [#2]
1) With that kind on inconsistency and out-of-squareness, YOU'RE DOING SOMETHING WRONG.  Figure it out and fix it.  Your ES shouldn't be more than 0.002"... maybe 0.003" if you're sloppy.

2) Interesting that your first post is in the Precision Rifle Reloading sub-forum...  You might consider the "regular" reloading forum for starters...  LINK.

3) Reloading is a fun hobby but don't ever loose sight of the fact that we are all playing with things that go BOOM!...  Think 2 or 3 times if you are inclined to take shortcuts so that you can move on to something else (like shooting)...  ESPECIALLY if you are inexperienced.  You want it right...  not necessarily right now!

Best!