Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/25/2017 1:04:01 PM EDT
[Last Edit: iostream]
Good morning/afternoon/evening all,

I have been shooting for 10+ years but have never done any precision shooting. I am wanting to start learning the craft and am looking for guidance.

My first question, is do I go with bolt-operated or semi-auto (and why ?). Was looking at possibly buying a remington 700 in .308 which I have read in many places will take pretty far in my learning, or possibly building an .308 AR. ( I have built the two AR15s I own so I'm somewhat familiar with the platform, despite the differences in standards when it comes to .308).

Also, looking for a quick and dirty on barrel length, calibers, and short pull vs long pull bolts. (why they matter, and which are better).

Thank you all in advance and my apologies if this is in the wrong section.

**Edit**
I have scoured the interwebz for this information and have assembled a lot of stuff that I have been reviewing ...and my last stop is interrogating you fine gentlemen and possibly, ladies.
Link Posted: 10/25/2017 1:52:01 PM EDT
[#1]
What are you going to do with the rifle most of the time?

F-class?  PRS matches?  Paper at 100 yards?  Long range hunting?  Benchrest?

What is your buget for the rifle?  Does that include optic?
Link Posted: 10/25/2017 1:56:21 PM EDT
[#2]
Competition, classes or just range days? Desired max range? Hard and soft budget?
Link Posted: 10/25/2017 2:04:07 PM EDT
[Last Edit: iostream] [#3]
- My intended use is to start at 100 yards from different positions (prone, sitting, bench rest, tripod, etc) and learn the craft.

- No hunting

- No competition any time soon, who knows if this changes..perhaps I fall in love with this.

- Budget is < $1000 this is a soft cap that can be adjusted for the optic.