Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/13/2019 3:54:59 PM EDT
Note: This is not a clone. The goal is a functional rifle that very closely resembles the original.

As indicated, I want to build a reliable rifle that is an image of the actual. I can't actually have a KAC, so I have been forced to build a Mock 11 instead. I am a newbie at this, and I realize now that this was not the rifle to start with... buuuut I'm committed now so screw it. Currently the build list is as follows:

Genesis CNC upper receiver (In hand)
LMT MWS 308 Lower
KAC FF RAS (In hand)
KAC BCG Match grade (In hand)
KAC double rail gas block (In hand)
KAC Ambi charging handle
Rifle length gas tube
Rainier Ultramatch 20" Mk 11 replica
Harris Bipod
KAC front and rear sights
A2 stock
A2 ergo grip
KAC Scope rings
Leupold Mk 4 or Vortex Viper PST II

I may not have gotten everything on the list here, but I have a couple of questions for the experts. I have done a lot of reading, but some questions have not been answered in my endeavors. Thank you in advance.
Link Posted: 7/13/2019 3:55:32 PM EDT
[#1]
Cont.

1. BCG in Upper Receiver.
Now I have read this before, but the KAC BCG fits very loosely in this receiver. Granted, this receiver is still raw aluminum, no barrel is seated, and I am not running the BCG in with a charging handle. When the BCG is floating where it should at the end of the road, the tail end has a lot of slop left and right. On both sides I have about 1/8" of clearance, with about 1/16" of play in either direction. On the forward section of the BCG it seems to fit very nicely, with just enough play for me to feel confident that it will stay lubricated. The back end is where I worry. I don't want to strike the lower receiver.

2. Buffer and Spring.