Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/8/2020 2:47:28 AM EDT
I have been running a $20 pawnshop rangefinder for several years, and it is ok out to 2-300 yards, but past 300 I have been having trouble getting a lock on 3 gun targets.  Some of my problem is the crappy rangefinder and some is that it is fairly crude so I have issues holding steady on the targets.

My intended usage is for 3 gun rifle targets (the farthest I remember shooting at was around 800) and PRS match targets (likely also under 1K, but much smaller targets).  I don't need the ability to range anything with fur.  Right now I am vascilating between the 1000y Vortex for $200(ish) and the 1800y Vortex at $350(ish), because I really like their scopes, but I am open to other options but it is really difficult to differentiate between the gazillion models available just researching on the internet without being able to try them out in person.

So, first I would like to address the Vortex options, specifically the two current options vs any of their previous models that might fill my needs for a discount.  The Ranger 1800 seems to have more features, and I have read that using a rangefinder close to the max of its ability is less reliable or accurate than ranging closer to the middle of its capability.  But is it $150 better than the Impact 1000?  Then, are there other options/brands that I should consider - new or used, that would fit my needs better?
Link Posted: 8/8/2020 4:00:11 AM EDT
[#1]
Im sent
Link Posted: 8/14/2020 8:33:28 PM EDT
[#2]
Okay I have responded to the IM, discussed options, and I still need a new rangefinder.  So unless anybody else wants to offer to sell me Rangefinder, I would sincerely like some advice on rangefinders.  

Link Posted: 8/19/2020 5:04:11 PM EDT
[#3]