Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/14/2018 1:12:54 AM EDT
[Last Edit: eviljoe]
I have a Ruger American Predator in 6.5 Creedmoor with a SWFA SS 12x42 scope mounted low.  
When I have the money, I'll upgrade to the best scope I can afford around $600 since I'm kinda doubting 12X will be enough for me to see much further than 500-600 yards (I know they say 1X per 100 yards, but I'm 46 with glasses due to an astigmatism). I'll likely also get a magpul chassis for the gun and a range finder (I know the barrel is only a mid-size 22", but I like that it's fairly light and handy for the few hunting trips I tag along on).
I've seen youtube people make 1000 yard shots with worse equipment, but I'm a newbie to bolt guns (I've been shooting ARs from 50-300 yards for 21 years); I'm still reading up on the ammo (mine will be Hornady 140gr ELD Match), the scope with mil/mils, and all the other details (20MOA mounts vs 0MOA mounts, etc.).  

** What I want to know is, factoring in VERY LITTLE wind (<5mph), if I zero the gun at 100Y (or 200Y), and figure out how many mils I need to dial (or hold-over), can I pretty easily make hits on a 18" gong or IPSC torso at 500Y if the gun is steady on sandbags and I'm good on the trigger (without having to walk it in)?  How about 800 yards?  I assume 5mph wind could throw the round left or right by 5-6" at 500, and more like 12-15" at 800.