Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 7/4/2018 6:19:48 PM EDT
[Last Edit: rakkasan1187]
Hey guys Im looking to buy a Tikka T3x Tactical 300 win mag rifle. It has a 23.7" barrel with 1:11 twist according to euro optic. What would be some factory loads that would give me a full powder burn, giving me good accuracy, and great ballistics for hunting? I don't reload. I was eyeing up the Hornady 200gr ELD X ammo.

Ive read some articles that 22" barrels lose no velocity over the longer barrels when using faster burning powders.

I will be using this mostly for hunting, including some long range hunting, and target shooting 1000 yards and beyond. Im new to this and wanted to see what the experts recommend. Thanks!
Link Posted: 7/4/2018 10:03:03 PM EDT
[#1]
Honestly you'll just have to buy a bunch of different stuff and get a chronograph to decide what will be the most efficient.
Link Posted: 7/5/2018 1:54:19 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 7/28/2018 2:40:09 PM EDT
[Last Edit: ballisticxlr] [#3]
Easy, look for light-ish bullets and if they'll let you handle a round, shake it. High energy fast burning powders will be used in smaller doses. If you shake a round and can tell there's powder shifting around in there (like quite a bit) then you know they've not got that much in there. Look for around 125-150gn (for CPX2 type game) bullets. You should not experience much in the way of velocity loss over a 24" pipe either way (much meaning some huge number, there will be some loss but it won't matter at hunting ranges, even at LONG range hunting distances, they're still not that far away).
Link Posted: 8/23/2018 1:42:06 AM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By ballisticxlr: