Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/20/2021 10:19:05 PM EDT
I hear it daily on the repeaters around here. I'm not against it, but for me I want a solid RF system for when the internet is down and a node is useless.

I want a reliable RF system I can rely on.

I'm just starting out and want what works when nothing else does.
Link Posted: 4/21/2021 5:27:56 AM EDT
[#1]
I don't have the answer to your question but based on your post, I thought you might find this fairly recent article of interest: ECOMM and Comms Preparedness - Zero Dependancy Winlink

Link Posted: 4/21/2021 6:25:00 AM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
I hear it daily on the repeaters around here. I'm not against it, but for me I want a solid RF system for when the internet is down and a node is useless.

View Quote

Those are pretty vague requirements.

Who do you want to be able to communicate with, and under what conditions: mere SHTF, or full-on TEOTWAWKI?
Link Posted: 4/21/2021 6:50:08 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:

View Quote
Not all amateurs are worried about emcomm is the short of it all. Digital/VOIP is popular right now.
Link Posted: 4/21/2021 7:18:17 AM EDT
[#4]
Couple local clubs consistently do microwave linking between repeaters whenever possible, so it'll have a little extra value if/when cell services are down.

Internet VoIP then allows people to get used to how it works because local VHF is mostly silent.
Link Posted: 4/21/2021 3:17:51 PM EDT
[#5]
I think the push for nodes has a lot to do with the division of services in the amateur radio world. You have DSTAR, Fusion, DMR, P25, NXDN, and even analog but not a ton of support for mixing different formats on the infrastructure level. Having hotspot/nodes alleviates that so if a ham wants to use his local YSF repeater but only has an analog radio or a DMR radio, they can access it via the network side.