Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/23/2020 9:26:58 PM EDT
Removed the cover from a home circuit breaker panel (in the basement) in preparation for doing some rewiring and discovered that one or more squirrels had left a 'gift' inside the panel (see the photo below).

I have never removed the cover of the panel before this, and so I have no way of knowing how long this stuff has been accumulating.

I doubt that the pests actually got inside the box, rather I suspect that it's more likely that they made their deposits through one or more incompletely-stuffed knockouts on the top of the panel (but I will have to take a closer look tomorrow to see whether there may be some other access point that I've overlooked). At first glance, I don't see anything that looks like bite marks on any of the insulation.

I'm not concerned about PPE for the electrical side of things - I have plenty of experience in that regard - I'll shut off the main breaker, keep my arms and other body parts clear, not wear any jewelry, and will not otherwise do anything stupid electrically-speaking inside the panel.

What I'm less sure of is hazards associated with the rodent debris. Is the discoloration on the wires (most easily seen on the white 'neutral' wires) likely to be from squirrel urine or feces? I'm not sure what either of those would look like on the wiring, but I don't particularly want to come into direct contact with it so I'm thinking of wearing thick nitrile gloves while cleaning out the debris. I also don't know whether the stuff may be corrosive, or if it is, how best to neutralize it or clean it off.