Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/27/2018 9:46:44 PM EDT
I've been into old trucks my whole life but I've just recently started to get interested in ham radio.  When I say recently I mean that my Baofeng UV-5R got delivered last week and I tuned into a local repeater and listened to some talk for the first time on Thursday evening.  I'm starting to learn the basics but I'm a total radio newb at this point.  I plan to get my license but I haven't started studying yet.  In an odd coincidence I just bought a '76 Dodge M880 US military truck that had gone to a South Dakota fire department after it was decommissioned.  I got it home and was cleaning out the interior when I looked behind the seat and saw what looked to me like a radio of some sort based on the FCC info on the tag.  I couldn't get a close look at it since I couldn't figure out how to fold the seat forward.  I'm not sure it even does.
But I was able to snap a picture of the info tag and it had the following information:
Motorola, Inc.
MITREK
Prim Pwr 12v
FCC Xmtr Data CC1147
FCC Rcvr Data RC0213
Model No. T51JJA3900BK
Serial No. 433HEWXXXX

I did some searching around online and I was able to learn that it's a "low band, low power", 25-50MHz radio.  Other than that everything I found about it was over my head at this point.  I'm sure that it was used by the fire department for comms.  I don't have any other pieces other than the main radio unit.  No power cables or mics or anything.  There's a whip antenna on the roof of the truck and what looks like a base for another antenna on the back of the cab.
Does this radio have any practical use for a beginner ham operator, or any use for any level of ham?  Is it something that's worth having or is it basically a doorstop?
Thanks.
Attachment Attached File
Link Posted: 10/27/2018 9:58:07 PM EDT
[#1]