Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/10/2024 1:54:45 PM EDT
If you could only keep one antenna you currently own, what would it be and why it beats other similar choices.  Throw in 2 picks if you can't decide.  

I have been running dipoles mostly for the last year since getting into HF, and I am just getting into OCF and windom for multi band.  I like the multi-band I have now which is about 65 feet 80/20 OCF dipole with a 4:1 balun and a 1:1 choke about 12 feet of coax from the feed point.  It tunes with the FT-710 builtin tuner for 40/20/15/12/10.   It is a bit weaker than the single band dipoles it will replace, but the multiband is worth the compromise.

Link Posted: 4/10/2024 4:06:16 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Frank_B] [#1]
Dipoles. They've worked for me in various configurations ever since I got my Novice back in '54.
I had a Yagi and an amplifier once. I sold them when I moved in '86 and never looked back.
To me, ham radio is a lot more fun without them. Busting a pileup with 5 Watts into a half-wave gives a special kind of satisfaction.
Link Posted: 4/10/2024 4:09:38 PM EDT
[#2]
Mine would be the DX Commander. It can be tuned to resonance on 40-6m, and will work on 2m too. Easy to set up for permanent or portable activations. This is the classic model, there are other models with different band selections.
Link Posted: 4/10/2024 4:25:46 PM EDT
[#3]
My home-brewed multiband dipole with window-line feedline. Works beautifully with my KPA1500 tuner on all bands 60M and up.
Link Posted: 4/10/2024 4:40:43 PM EDT
[#4]
Probably the tree hung, open wire fed, 160m FWL.  It pretty much covers everything in the amateur bands, hears well & had no problem (as far as I know) with KW+ power & is cheap to fix/replace if needed.   Might change my mind if appropriate trees weren't available.
Link Posted: 4/10/2024 4:46:57 PM EDT
[#5]
Can I keep multiples of the same antenna?

Link Posted: 4/10/2024 5:12:48 PM EDT