Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/13/2022 11:27:06 PM EDT
Ive always wanted to go hunting but i lived in baltimore. Now i live in the middle of nowhere in texas and I want to start. I live in between ft.worth and waco, kinda near cleburne if anyone knows where thats at and can direct me somewhere.

What gear do I NEED?
Is a 5.56 ar15 good enough?
Where do I find a place to hunt?
How the hell do you even do it?
Ive never skinned anything before and the only thing ive ever gutted was fish so im also concerned about that.

Im really sorry im new to all of this and know nothing.
Link Posted: 6/14/2022 12:10:44 AM EDT
[#1]
5.56 is ok... but far from ideal. 300 blk is better 308 is better yet. Honestly, the best place to start is find a buddy or a mentor of some sort thats gone out a bit. Texas is tough because it is almost all private land. But shelling out the money and going on a few guided hunts might be very worthwhile to get your feet wet.
Link Posted: 6/14/2022 12:22:52 AM EDT
[#2]
I would suggest making some friends at work, church, etc and find someone else who hunts.

Ask them if they can help you get into the hobby, take you on your first hunt, teach you, and/or recommend a hunting club that you could join.

In my experience hunters love getting new people into the sport.
Link Posted: 6/14/2022 12:42:24 AM EDT
[#3]
First, learn to shoot.
Second, walk outside.
Third, shoot the first animal you see.
Fourth, .... well you get the idea.