Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 10/22/2019 10:05:28 AM EDT
I bought plane tickets last night, we leave at the end of March for a seven day hunt.

We went two years ago and had a blast, but my buddy and I brought our wives. Having them there was great, and they both took Gemsbuck and had amazing times.  I’m really excited about going without them this time.  My buddy and I have been hunting together for 20 years, I shot my first deer with him when I was 17.

Last time we went, we rented rifles and that was great, especially since our wives are very inexperienced hunters. This trip we’re bringing bows and a pistol.  I’ll probably bring a .44 mag, but am going to try out a new to me 454 Casull this fall and see how I like it.  We are debating bringing a .308 as well, that took everything down last time without problems, and we do want to shoot baboons and I understand those are typically long shots.

The list of what I want is:
Warthog
Springbok
Black Wildebeest
Kudu
Baboon

Kudu is the only species of those that we saw good bulls last time, and we did see a couple warthogs, but neither of our PHs wanted us to shoot them as they were too small.  I’ve been saving up to afford taking a big Kudu this time, I’d like to see and kill the other stuff on my list, but I’m going to really be after the Kudu.

I know there are some guys here that have a ton of experience hunting in Africa, anyone have any advice for me about pistol and bow hunting the Dark Continent?
Link Posted: 10/22/2019 3:50:14 PM EDT
[#1]
Good hunting, have fun and be careful! 😀
Link Posted: 10/24/2019 9:28:36 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm going next June. It will be my first time Africa, so while I'm excited I'm also a little nervous.
Link Posted: 10/27/2019 9:12:45 AM EDT
[#3]
Originally Posted By JimPope:
I bought plane tickets last night, we leave at the end of March for a seven day hunt.