Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/20/2022 12:23:35 PM EDT
Hey all!

I've been wanting to tackle this project for years now, and given the shakey food market, what better time than now?

Background - I have a BS degree in Horticulture and greenhouse management. It's also my full time job now.

I purchased a $400 greenhouse kit and got it set up. Building it was pretty easy. I used a 2x6 as a footer for the house and anchored it on concrete bricks. Floor is gravel for now, with buried mesh wire and weed fabric. I got auto ventilation set up, and auto heating using an Inkbird analog controller.

My HOBO environment tracker is set up, I'll have some data on condition stability soon.

I'm planning on adding an automatic fogger system for cooling and humidity purposes (I live in an extremely dry climate).

Also on the docket is duckbill earth anchors on the 4 corners, a 2x4 internal "skeleton" for rigidity, and a layer of 6mil poly stretched over the roof for extra insulation and hail protection.

Gonna get benches assembled and installed this weekend.

Next to the greenhouse is a fenced in raised garden bed area. Fenced in because damn deer and elk. There's mesh wire under the beds for critter control as well as weed barrier. I'm going to put another longer raised bed in this weekend, weather permitting. This area is also gonna have 4-5 large deep containers for potato production.

Plants are gonna be: potatoes, carrots, snap beans, cucumbers, tomatoes, peppers, yellow squash, acorn squash, and several herbs.

Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File

Attachment Attached File

The wiring here will get cleaned up. I just threw it together for testing purposes

Attachment Attached File

Link Posted: 5/20/2022 12:27:52 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 5/20/2022 12:29:02 PM EDT
[#2]
I'll answer any questions yall have. I'll keep updating with progress as well
Link Posted: 5/20/2022 12:47:33 PM EDT
[#3]