Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/30/2022 12:59:48 AM EDT
So, I’m a MT resident eligible for resident hunting and fishing licenses as of this year (yay!).

What I can’t figure out is elk hunting in region 1. So…I can buy a general elk license for the state but how do I sign up for a draw if the unit I choose isn’t an available option on FWP’s site? Is region 1 just open? FWP’s site has elk permits available to draw for other hunting units but nothing in Region 1. (Yes, I know it’s not the best place to hunt them, but it’s what I’m going to try out for my first year doing it).

I’m not a dumb guy but these hunting regs make almost no sense to me. The amount of missing critical information is pretty disheartening.  

To complicate matters even more, my old man wants to come elk hunting around here as a non-resident (a fool and his money). What the heck do I tell him to do? Drop $1K on a deer/elk combo license? I’m certain he’ll not be able to to put in for an elk permit in Region 1 either.

Nothing I’ve found in the regs spells this out. I’ve spent literal hours online trying to find some critical answers to basic questions with no results, hence, I’m asking here.

Who’s got some insight for me?
Link Posted: 3/30/2022 1:29:35 AM EDT
[#1]
I am in the same boat as yourself. I never considered myself a complete idiot until I went to purchase my first MT hunting license this year (today actually).   Good Luck and safety in your hunts this year!
Link Posted: 3/30/2022 9:56:00 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 3/30/2022 10:39:23 AM EDT
[#3]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
View Quote

That's the plan today.
Link Posted: 3/30/2022 11:32:55 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
So, I’m a MT resident eligible for resident hunting and fishing licenses as of this year (yay!).