Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 8/7/2020 12:58:50 PM EDT
Hello all, thought I would give my initial impression of the Holosun 507k I just received and compare it to the Swampfox Sentinel that I had on my P365xl previously. Below I will list my initial pros and cons of both optics and tell you which one I prefer. I have been shooting slide mounted red dots for about four years now and my go to has always been the Trijicon RMR 06 type 2, sadly that does not fit well on these new micro carry guns so that's where these new optics step in. Everything below is my limited initial opinion as I have only shot roughly 500 rounds through each optic.

Both optics came with adjustment tools, battery, lens cloth, and necessary screws. The Swampfox did come with a protective cover which is a nice touch. TL/DR at the bottom.

Holosun 507k Pros:
Side load battery- This is especially nice because even though the battery is smaller, the optic doesn't need to be re-zeroed every time you change the battery
Tactile Windage & Elevation Turrets- I was very impressed with how audible/tactile the turret adjustments are on this optic, especially for its size
Durability- I have not dropped test this, but the housing feels very robust and is designed well to mitigate impact damage. Check out Sage Dynamics review on youtube to see a real drop test.
Tactile brightness adjustments- The brightness adjustment buttons have a very nice physical and audible click
Rear sight integration-this is especially important for us P365xl users since we lose the rear sight when adding an optic
Lens clarity- There is very little lens tint and no noticeable edge distortion or reflections even on a bright day.

Cons:
2 moa dot- after shooting the RMR for so long I much prefer the 3-3.25 moa dot. This of course is subjective