Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/4/2024 2:12:02 AM EDT
G45 with a SCS?  Yay or nay?  

Short version - got a G45, thinking of putting a SCS on there for my 1st optic.  Full time carry and range gun. I love the idea of no plates and a very low mount (using stock height sights).  I've been shooting Glocks for almost 30 years, so the SCS sounds like an ideal way to go.  Sure, the window could be bigger.  I see that as encouragement to present the weapon properly

Longer version....

I've become a huge fan of the 4" barrel, full length magazine frame handgun.  

Got a Dagger S frame for my daughter, I started carrying it because it felt great.  But it's time to build that out for her, so I started looking for options.

#1 Dagger is out because I want to go back to full 100% Glock holster compatibility.  

#2 XR920 - it looks intriguing, and the optic mounting system looks unparalleled in versatility. Quality control really sounds like there's a solid 10-20% chance of an issue.  But if there is, it's going to really suck getting it fixed.  I'm local to Shadow Systems, but don't think I want that headache.  

#3 Lone Wolf frames - A G45 style in Gen3/Gen4.  Building it myself with OEM Glock LPK should erase most issues, but it looks..... Odd, and there's still some issues that have cropped up.

#4 Grit Grips - They make a great G19 frame, but unfortunately, a Gen3 G45 frame is probably a year away.  

#5 Nomad - Not fully Glock holster compatible according to their website.

#6 G45 - I've been checking the local shop in case they got another used/trade in G45.  Stopped in Saturday and BOOM, used G45.  One magazine, plastic sights, no plates or backstraps.  Price was good enough to make me not care.