Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 4/12/2021 11:18:41 AM EDT
What is your favorite concealment holster for the L frame?

What is your favorite open carry/OWB holster for the L frame?
Link Posted: 4/12/2021 12:22:03 PM EDT
[#1]
For OWB carry for an L frame, I've been using a Galco Phoenix for about 15 years.  They were $120 at the time, they've gone up a bit since then .  I like the thumb snap vs. stupid snap on the outside, and it can be RH strongside or crossdraw depending on what you need.  I don't have a picture of it handy, but my S&W 620 (half underlug 4", see my avatar) rides in it comfortably, and it's been on my hip while hunting for years.  Not sure I'd want to try IWB with a 4" L-frame, but the rig above conceals well enough in wintertime or under a heavier jacket.

Either way, a good gun belt is a must.  I've been using Bullhide Leather Belts almost exclusively since 2014, and a Galgo Rigger's type belt before that.  If you're trying to carry a heavy gun like that on some cheap belt from Kohl's or something, you're gonna have a bad time
Link Posted: 4/12/2021 12:44:48 PM EDT
[#2]
I second what Seven-Shooter recommended. I use the Phoenix for my K, L, and N frames . Great OWB holster . 20% off right now at Galco.
Link Posted: 4/13/2021 3:21:47 PM EDT
[#3]
I have been known to carry a 3" L frame IWB before. It is not cumbersome at all but I have never found a holster I really liked for it.
Link Posted: 4/13/2021 5:17:12 PM EDT
[#4]
I carry my m66 aiwb every day in a jmcustom aiwb holster. Id start there if I had a l frame.

After that Id look to Ryan grizzle
Link Posted: 4/13/2021 7:42:52 PM EDT
[#5]
I like the DeSantis Thumb Break for concealment of my 3". My small can of pepper spray prints massively more than the gun does.