Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/13/2024 2:38:36 PM EDT
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 2:49:25 PM EDT
[#1]
I am not a doctor but the last thing you want is surgery. If getting a shot or even one every so often is better than surgery. I hope the shot helps you.
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 4:01:20 PM EDT
[#2]
I've had 3 separate left ankle fusion surgeries.  The first two surgeries were done by the same doctor.  The doctor ONLY used cadaver bone the two times.  After another failed fusion I went to a new doctor and he did my final fusion.  Why did the 2nd doctor's surgery fuse the ankle?  Because he used cadaver bone AND bone from my left knee bone.  Expect to have nerve damage to your foot resulting in some numbness.  That was my experience was.
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 6:38:52 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 6:52:09 PM EDT
[#4]
I've broken my right ankle twice and the left once.
Big toes so many times I can't remember. Nail and staph infection from thinking it would go away. Hospital for 14 days. I was 13, so not I'm not an idiot.
Skate boarding, moto, BMX. I'm probably right behind you. Nerve pain and numbness feels like needles and pins.
I'm on my feet all day and that helps with the stiffness somewhat.
I'm 60 and just bought a new 24 Husky FX350 to go riding with my son. I never stopped riding, but yes,  I'm an idiot
Good luck and seek out a different Dr. if you aren't convinced. I kinda regret the surgeon who fixed my broken femur/tibia plateau fracture.
BRAAAPPP.
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 10:52:04 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 5/13/2024 11:02:50 PM EDT
[#6]
Originally Posted By Waldo:

Went to the foot and ankle surgeon today.

Got to sit there and watch the portable ultrasound while they used it to guide the needle in between one of the joints in my foot to inject it with cortisone.

Fusion is probably next. I guess they have to try injections before surgery for ins co.
View Quote