Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/16/2024 2:15:46 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Klee]
I had a couple of memory sticks die and some of the parts have been running since 2013 or so.

Out with the old...

In with the new...

Well not exactly new, I've been running this as my main pc for about eight months.

Been using two AIO coolers in the desktop case but they might not fit my server case without some hacking so I will probably go with a couple of Supermicro 4U air-coolers.

Plus the AIO cooler pumps are starting to make a little bit of noise.

The air coolers are rated up to 205 watts each and will probably be a bit noisier but the server will be in another room so thats a non issue.

Also have four good 6TB HGST Helium filled hard drives.
Link Posted: 3/16/2024 2:22:29 PM EDT
[#1]
The Supermicro coolers are really nice quality.

Comparing the AIO and air cooler.

Link Posted: 3/16/2024 3:20:19 PM EDT
[#2]
Houston we have a problem, I can't find my extra tube of thermal paste.
Link Posted: 3/16/2024 3:24:02 PM EDT
[#3]
How do you not have at least 5 different tubes lying about?
Link Posted: 3/16/2024 3:50:02 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Klee] [#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By dragoontwo:
How do you not have at least 5 different tubes lying about?
View Quote

I do, they are all empty.

Edit: Good news the paste on the bottom of the cpu coolers is still very soft and not dried out like I was expecting.

Edit2: Backing up both my main pc and my AM5 pc right now.

The B650e  motherboard is currently in a Enthoo Pro case and i'm wanting to install it into my newer case that currently has the dual Xeon board.

I removed the video card so I am using the IGPu of the cpu for now so I wont have to mess with video card drivers until after I swap everything over to my newer case.

Installing Windows 11 on a 2TB nvm-e drive then I will add in another 1TB  for Ubuntu.