Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/9/2022 10:06:23 AM EDT
I have had an AK parts kit laying around for a while now, and I'm slowly getting the parts together to finish it out. Since it's my first one I have been trying to sap up as much information as I can and one of the things that became clear is the need for a shop press. Now I could probably buy one from HF but it dawned on me that I build shit for a living, and not only that I had already been collecting scrap for a while and have about 90% of what I need already just sitting there waiting for a project. So why waste the 170+ buying one when I could spend that same money on some more AK specific tooling parts I need, and the side folder trunnion I still need.

I did some research on DIY build and found a design that I have all the parts for, except the main frame tubing. Normally I could just get the sawman to cut me a couple sticks in the length I need but apparently 7mm tubing is nearly impossible for us to get right now. Which leaves me with a bit of a conundrum. I have a pretty good length of scrap, but not one that would be the nearly 45 inches or more I need for each side. So I could replace the side frame parts with some 3/16ths channel I know we do have but It would make things more difficult.

The main reason for the height I need is, to press a barrel I assume I'll need the 16 inches, plus the length of the pusher bar and a bit of clearance room for the receiver which would have a rod running through the front trunnion area to keep the receiver from crushing when pressed. The rest are obviously just for pressing rivets and such.

But I'll have other uses for it but this would be the main reason. Cost is 0. I have all the channel, the plates, the bottle jack, etc. Just the side frame is needed.

Does anyone see any glaring flaw with my design here?

Attachment Attached File

Shitty illustration to show the purpose.