Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 5/25/2023 2:09:48 PM EDT
I figured turning to the hive was the best way to kick start his research.
I’m a cop with 0 aviation background who has just always been interested in “one day” learning to fly. I am specifically interested in helicopters, less so in fixed wing aircraft. My initial research seems to find I can jump directly into lessons for rotary wing but at a significantly higher price point vs obtaining a private license for fixed wing first, and later moving on to rotary. Can you guys shed some light on what may be the more ideal route? At this time I’m thinking this will be a hobby that may one day turn into a post law enforcement career.
Link Posted: 5/25/2023 2:23:35 PM EDT
[#1]
I've had the same thought, but in the end there are way more jobs for fixed wing than for rotary. So it would make more sense to get fixed wing and hopefully one day get the job of police helo pilot.
Link Posted: 5/25/2023 3:28:59 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 5/25/2023 11:33:42 PM EDT
[#3]
The regs let you do an "add-on" category in less hours, but it's unlikely you'll be ready to for the checkride in that amount of time.  In all the years I was an instructor, very few people even got the Private in the minimum number of hours (40), much less 30 or so.  We had one guy that did it, but he was a software engineer for Boeing and had thousands of unlogged hours in the AH-64 simulator.  Then I had two other guys that were just naturals in it.  75% got their certificates in 50-60 hrs......more people took longer than that, than took less than that.