Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 4
Posted: 3/28/2024 9:53:25 AM EDT
All that matters about the recent maritime disaster in Baltimore is already well known with one exception: the root cause. What could cause an engineering casualty of that magnitude? I'm no marine engineer, but I am an engineer, and curiosity is killing this cat.

MV Dali had one big ass 2-stroke diesel engine and no less than four massive generators.

And go...
Link Posted: 3/28/2024 9:58:03 AM EDT
[#1]
Originally Posted By aa777888-2:
All that matters about the recent maritime disaster in Baltimore is already well known with one exception: the root cause. What could cause an engineering casualty of that magnitude? I'm no marine engineer, but I am an engineer, and curiosity is killing this cat.

MV Dali had one big ass 2-stroke diesel engine and no less than four massive generators.

And go...
View Quote

Tag
Link Posted: 3/28/2024 10:01:33 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Blstr89] [#2]
Dirty fuel.

Ships lose power a lot more often than you think, they just don’t usually take down a bridge when it happens.
Link Posted: 3/28/2024 10:02:04 AM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 3/28/2024 10:05:21 AM EDT
[#4]

And go...
View Quote

same thoughts as you..

My hope is that even in the best laid plans things break and shit happens and it was just an accident that now forces some new triple system redundancy....but my bet is on someone bypassed/didn't service/disregarded/overrode/etc the one thing that was designed to prevent this from happening.
Link Posted: 3/28/2024 10:05:34 AM EDT
[#5]
Imagine if the root cause is found to be bad fuel, and the ship took on fuel while in port.
Link Posted: 3/28/2024 10:06:23 AM EDT
[#6]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By Blstr89:
Dirty fuel.

Ships lose power a lot more often than you think, they just don't usually take down a bridge when it happens.
View Quote