Site Notices
Posted: 5/29/2018 10:28:52 AM EDT
Link Posted: 5/29/2018 10:43:40 AM EDT
[#1]
Thats some indulgence
Link Posted: 5/29/2018 11:13:17 AM EDT
[#2]
Are you a diver? PADI JR open water diver program

You might check out a Discover Scuba program which is an introduction to SCUBA, not an actual certification.
Link Posted: 5/29/2018 11:18:44 AM EDT
[#3]
I would say snorkeling until 13 or so.  I wouldn't put a 10 year old on air outside of a pool.

Former military SCUBA diver FWIW
Link Posted: 5/29/2018 11:35:21 AM EDT
[#4]
My kids started at ten.

There are several things to take into consideration:

The child's maturity, the child's ability to handle stress, the adult's experience and comfort level.

My kids were restricted to easy, warm water, shallow dives until they were older.

I had been diving under a variety of conditions for twenty years when they were certified.

As the adult your focus will always be on the child diving with you.

There are physical considerations as well, the effect of pressure on growth, the effects of micro bubbles, and stress.

There is a ton of information out there.

The instructor is important as well.

With all of this said, there is nothing to compare to the joy of watching a child discover the wonders of the underwater world.

Also, scuba diving, I believe, gives a child confidence along with some educational benefits.
Link Posted: 5/29/2018 12:30:51 PM EDT
[#5]
I think he is too young to be honest. Try snorkling instead.
Link Posted: 5/29/2018 6:37:19 PM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 5/29/2018 6:49:49 PM EDT
[#7]
My son started diving in a pool at 8. Like a poster above said, it all depends on their maturity level, but if they're comfortable swimming / snorkeling, they should be fine diving too. PADI has a "Seal Team" program that teaches the basics and lets them complete different skills all in a pool starting at 8 years old.
Link Posted: 5/29/2018 7:17:43 PM EDT
[#8]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: