Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 3/16/2022 2:47:08 AM EDT
I currently own a baseball facility that caters to high end athletes. We have skill coaches (hitting, throwing, defense, etc) as well strength/conditioning coaches. The skill and strength programs are highly integrated and there is constant communication between coaches. Every athlete is different, so the movement demands of the skill and the individual athlete's deficiencies must be addressed specifically by both skill and strength coaches.

I bring this up because I am a beginner in the gun world. I am working my way up in taking more and more advanced classes. This weekend I took a tactical rifle class that had me shooting while moving for the first time. I consider myself a good athlete, I played professional baseball, and relatively young. But this class whooped my ass. Being able to walk smoothly while staying on target and shooting accurately was a challenge. Even being able to hold the rifle up and on target while standing still for extended periods of time was difficult. Needless to say, my workouts are not built to help me progress in my hobby (shooting). It got me thinking that there must be other people out there that need some guidance and coaching on the fitness side to address the specific needs of their hobby. There are just some things that a skill coach (shooting instructor) will never be able to fix if your body physically cannot move in a certain way.