Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 1/19/2022 10:46:57 PM EDT
I want to pickup the hobby again after a 30+ year hiatus.

I finally bought a spray booth today.  I bought an Iwata Eclipse airbrush and Iwata Sprint Jet compressor years ago but never used it because I didn't have the spray booth.   A couple of questions:

What PSI should I use?  

Do you set the pressure regulator with the airbrush trigger pulled or closed?

I have mostly enamel paints, should I get acrylic to run through the airbrush?

Do you clean the airbrush with mineral spirits, water, or paint thinner?

What should the ratio be to thin paint in order to run through the airbrush?  For example Testers Flat Black enamel.  What is used to thin, water for acrylic and paint thinner for enamel.

Thanks.

Here is the new airbrush stuff

image 1 png

Here is the stash I've been collecting since 1984.  Only seven of the kits have been started so lots of work ahead.  Does anyone actually finish all their kits or is collecting the kits just part of the hobby?
Link Posted: 1/19/2022 11:39:50 PM EDT
[#1]
Impressive model collection. It has been quite a few years since painting cars and trucks, but I will try and provide some starting information.
Airbrushes run low pressure, around 10 psi, might need a little more depending on the paint. I always set pressure with an empty gun with air flowing, it was how I was taught. I only had to blow one pot off a paint gun to learn to carefully check pressure, what a mess that made.
Not much help with thinning model paint, the airbrush should have at least one pot of thinner ran through that is used to thin the selected paint. Good Luck, quite sure you will be proud of your work when finished. I remember painting model cars and planes with a brush, certainly not the best way to apply paint.
Link Posted: 1/20/2022 12:55:01 AM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted: