BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Link Posted: 5/11/2020 10:40:01 PM EDT
[#1]
edit
Link Posted: 5/11/2020 10:50:06 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm no constitutional lawyer, but I don't think that would fly here without an amendment. Then again, if Democrats take over anything is possible.
Link Posted: 5/11/2020 11:05:03 PM EDT
[#3]
From the article; "a 5% tax on the wealthiest 5% of American households could raise up to $2 trillion."

You know if they roll this out, it won't be "top 5%", the upper middle class is far too numerous for them to pass over.
Link Posted: 5/11/2020 11:25:11 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By shblackdragon:

From the article; "a 5% tax on the wealthiest 5% of American households could raise up to $2 trillion."

You know if they roll this out, it won't be "top 5%", the upper middle class is far too numerous for them to pass over.
View Quote

Yep. It'll be an upper middle class tax. I'll hazard a guess at the $150k - $500k range depending on location. Above that and most can afford to hire people to set up businesses, tax shelters, etc. so they pay little tax if any when it's all said + done.
Link Posted: 5/12/2020 6:39:59 AM EDT
[#5]
It will trickle down. All sh§t flows down hill.
Link Posted: 5/12/2020 7:21:40 AM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:

Yep. It'll be an upper middle class tax. I'll hazard a guess at the $150k - $500k range depending on location. Above that and most can afford to hire people to set up businesses, tax shelters, etc. so they pay little tax if any when it's all said + done.
View Quote
It may start out as for the upper middle class, until it inevitably trickles down to the rest of the middle class and percentages creep up. Look at how the income tax has evolved. It started out in 1913 at 1%, and now look at your tax bracket today.
Link Posted: 5/12/2020 7:21:53 AM EDT
[#7]
Originally Posted By Dirtydog: