Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 7/18/2022 8:20:18 PM EDT
I'm a private pilot SEL going on vacation to the Anchorage Alaska area next summer.  
I want to go flying.  
I would love to get my float rating, but that's out of the question as it would be several days away from the family fun.  Any recommendations for flight schools that rent 172s to tourists?  Maybe a 'fly yourself' tour with an instructor?  Ideally, I would like an introduction to float flying lesson with an emphasis on sight seeing.
Whatcha got?
Link Posted: 7/18/2022 9:13:37 PM EDT
[#1]
Quoted:
I'm a private pilot SEL going on vacation to the Anchorage Alaska area next summer.  
I want to go flying.  
I would love to get my float rating, but that's out of the question as it would be several days away from the family fun.  Any recommendations for flight schools that rent 172s to tourists?  Maybe a 'fly yourself' tour with an instructor?  Ideally, I would like an introduction to float flying lesson with an emphasis on sight seeing.
Whatcha got?
View Quote

My first flight in Alaska was with a local. I went on the AOPA website and found an instructor in Ketchikan who then put me in touch with a buddy of his.  For the price of his gas he flew my brother and I around the fjords and we had a hell of a time.

Two years later I was flying a 207 around those same fjords in my first real pilot job. The old guy passed away before I had the opportunity to cross paths with him again.
Link Posted: 7/18/2022 9:44:57 PM EDT
[#2]
Can't help with Alaska but Jack Brown's Seaplane Base in Florida has a two day rating class for SES.
Some weekend hop on a jet, fly to Florida, take the to the Class and fly back and then you'll be ready for next year in Alaska.
Link Posted: 7/18/2022 9:51:01 PM EDT
[#3]
I lived and worked in Alaska for 5 years and flew with some good folks there.

Look around Lake Hood for a seaplane school or instructor.