Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 10/11/2019 12:28:42 PM EDT
I've been working LE on nights for 5 years.  I take pride in the job and my work but sometimes wonder about starting over in something else.

For those that got out, what did you go into and do you regret the move?
Link Posted: 10/11/2019 1:04:26 PM EDT
[#1]
I was a cop from 94-06, since then I’ve worked construction and oilfield. I do a lot of driving using my class A cdl and haven’t worked a night shift since 2012 when I was fracking. I don’t regret leaving as I have an actual life not having to work holidays, weekends or miss my kids birthdays and sports. Best part is not having to work extra jobs and going to court on my days off oh and that pain in the middle of your back from wearing a gun belt and armor it goes away after a few months.
Link Posted: 10/11/2019 1:34:52 PM EDT
[#2]
What he said and...

Retired and hired on at USPS for the healthcare benefits (walking everywhere and medical), ability to transfer anywhere in the US, second retirement.
Link Posted: 10/11/2019 1:42:09 PM EDT
[#3]
Not leaving till I retire. I noticed many years ago when I was young that those who stuck out a career for 25-30+ years are far more financially stable in retirement than those who bounce around from job to job.  My own dad has bounced from job to job his whole life with no retirement from any of his jobs and now that he's nearing 70, he only has social security.

I don't know what your retirement at your department looks like but that's something you should look at as you are deciding what course of action you take.

Good luck!
Link Posted: 10/11/2019 1:43:08 PM EDT
[#4]