Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 2/27/2020 2:13:55 PM EDT
as seen with my post just below I am new to BP revolvers.  I have been doing lots of internet surfing and would like to try and make some of my own paper cartridges.  I am going to use cig roling paper.  I will make a wooden dowel to make the form.  The question I have is do you want/need to use the lubed wad in between the powder and ball like you do when loading the cylinders??  Thanks in advance....
Link Posted: 2/27/2020 3:13:17 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 3/6/2020 2:54:44 PM EDT
[#2]
No, you do not use a wad, just the powder and ball.  Ideally you lubricate the bullet.
Lubricating Cap and Ball Revolver Cartridges

When you buy rolling paper, look for a brand named "Raw", it's supposedly natural and doesn't have anything added to slow the burning.*  Also check out Duelist1954 on youtube for some other videos on rolling your own (https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Duelist1954+paper+cartridges) as well as reliability mods. There are also videos on nitrating the paper.  I did it once but didn't really notice a difference, especially for putting in any extra work; I'm guessing the paper gets ruptured when you ram it all down.  DukeFrazierProductions and Guns of the west are a couple of other good BP shooting channels.