Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 3/24/2024 8:37:47 PM EDT
I did a search but got lost in the 10 page thread.  

What should I use as the liquid in the tumbler.

I don't have Dawn or Lemishine on hand.  What else can I use and how much?

When I do get Dawn and Lemishine, how much of those do I use?

Link Posted: 3/24/2024 8:42:50 PM EDT
[#1]
Any dish soap will be fine.  

That being said, some people just add water abd let it roll.

As fas as amount. For dawn I do a small squirt and just a shake or 2 of lemishine.
Link Posted: 3/24/2024 9:21:21 PM EDT
[Last Edit: Cardplayer] [#2]
1/2 .45 case of Lemishine dependent on how full the barrel is. Too much and your brass will turn a tarnished yellow.
Link Posted: 3/24/2024 9:21:34 PM EDT
[#3]
Last I knew, ArmorAll Wash and Wax was the hotness. That’s what I’ve been using for a few years now and the brass comes out shiny and doesn’t tarnish.
Link Posted: 3/24/2024 10:28:26 PM EDT
[#4]
I buy the cheapest car wash stuff that has wax in it.

A pinch of lemishine

Hot water

Blingy brass every time. The wax will keep them from tarnishing much longer too
Link Posted: 3/24/2024 11:21:24 PM EDT
[#5]
I squirt some dawn in there for about 2 seconds. I don't measure it out. Then use 1/4th of a teaspoon of Lemishine. I've been using this recipe since the early days of wet tumbling when rock tumblers were all that were available. If I have any carwash soap with was in it, I'll often dump a cap full in there too. If I don't have any, I don't worry about it. This combo works great, and I don't end up with discolored brass from too much Lemishine.
Link Posted: 3/25/2024 12:28:52 AM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 3/25/2024 12:41:01 AM EDT
[Last Edit: Trollslayer] [#7]
I put off the cleaning until tomorrow after my trip to the store to get the right stuff.
Link Posted: 3/25/2024 12:42:18 AM EDT
[#8]
Got it right on the wall above the basement sink:
1/4 tsp Lemishine
2 tbsp Dawn